The 2012 SU elections race begins

The SU elections season 2012 has begun: with 24 people running for 8 out of 13 available positions.

And with current president Kayleigh Taylor and vice-president for activities Andreas Zacharia reaching the two term limit, it’s time for a range of new faces at Lincoln SU.

Hang up the dirty laundry: the bedsheets were out in force within an hour of campaigning starting. Photo: Jamie Freshwater

8 people are running for the role of president, including the existing vice-president for academic affairs Jennine Fox. Also in the running is Bullet editor Holly Peasgood, Ashley David John Lowery, Gemma Cobby, Komal Ramasawmy, Robert Raymond Lee, Robin James Drummond Popley and Timothy Christopher McDonnell-Woods.

There’s also strong competition for the other paid roles, with six people competing for vice-president for welfare, three people running for academic affairs and three people for activities – the full list of candidates are shown below.

The president and three vice-president roles are full time jobs, paid £17,677 per year.

The unpaid part time roles were changed at the All Students Meeting, with people running for the new officer positions of sports, societies and two out of three general student officer roles.

There are also roles of officer for each of the three colleges (which university courses were organised under) which will be elected later.

Voting in this year’s election begins at 9am on Monday, March 5th and runs until noon on Monday, March 12th. You can find out more information about voting, including changes to how vote online, on the SU website.

The candidates will face a public grilling on Monday, March 5th at the Candidates Question Time event, taking place at 2pm in the Atrium.

The Linc will be interviewing the candidates on Thursday, March 1st as part of a special podcast. If you’ve got any questions or issues you’d like raised, you can comment on this post, tweet us or email us.

The candidates

Download the manifestos at


  • Ashley David John Lowery
  • Gemma Cobby
  • Holly Peasgood
  • Jennine Fox
  • Komal Ramasawmy
  • Robert Raymond Lee
  • Robin James Drummond Popley
  • Timothy Christopher McDonnell-Woods

Vice-president for welfare and diversity

  • Andrew Twagira
  • Emily Hill
  • Jamie L. Barber
  • Kelly Nicholls
  • Kevin Aston
  • Maryam Saghir

Vice-president for academic affairs

  • Kirsty Barnes
  • Laura Goodliffe
  • Wesley Wells

Vice-president for activities

  • Louis Reeve
  • Daniel Sam
  • Oliver Tyler

Part time officer for sports

  • Jade Snedeker

Part time officer for societies

  • Gooleswari Seeburn

Part time officer for students (3 positions available)

  • Francesca Anderson
  • Hugh Allan Warrick Beira Lound

Comments are closed.