Women in Work awarded society of the year

The society won at the We Are Lincoln awards hosted on Friday 3 and beat out competition from over 100 societies within the university.  

The Women in Work society was formed at the beginning of the academic year by third-year business student Olivia Whitworth, and is also run by Vice President Eleanor Preece and Treasurer Rebecca Lawson. The society has since gathered more than 20 members.  

Vice President Eleanor Preece said: “Being the winner of Society of the Year is an incredible achievement. We were already so proud of everything we had accomplished in just 7 months, but this was the best way to end the year for us. The whole journey started with just one Facebook message to a whole group of girls and it’s amazing to see where we have ended up just months later.”

Olivia and Eleanor celebrate their win. Photo credit: Lincoln Student’s Union.

“We’ve worked so hard and put our all into the society, so we are extremely humbled and speechless to be awarded this. Thank you to everyone that has supported us along the way and voted for us in the awards, we wouldn’t have ever got this far without any of you.” 

The society aims to tackle issues that are affecting women in the workplace and to encourage gender equality in male-dominated areas of industry.  

In March for International Women’s Day, the society hosted a debate titled: ‘The Glass Ceiling no Longer Exists’ and later that month, went on to organistwo major conferences. These were titled: ‘Speaker conference: Confidence’ on March 28, and: ‘Speaker conference: Success’ on April 25. These networking events gathered women from the local area to talk about their success, confidence and to inspire other women.

Photo credit: Lincoln Students’ Union



The full list of winners from the night are as follows:  




Event of the year award – Peace of Mind. 

Academic society of the year award – Biomed. 

Sports club of the year award – Athletics. 

Committee engagement award – K-Wave. 

Membership engagement award – Netball 

New activity award – Pole Fitness. 

Fundraising award – Hockey. 

Coach of the year award – Lottie Beange. 

Society personality of the year award – George Young. 

Pride of Lincoln award – Rhys Dickinson. 

The History society also triumphed in the annual 8 out of 10 Swans competition. 

Leave a Reply