Labour’s Karen Lee has been elected as the new Member of Parliament for Lincoln.

The former Lincolnshire mayor gained the seat from Tory Karl McCartney, who occupied the constituency since 2010.

Photo: The Labour Party.

Over 66% of the electorate turned out to vote, with Lee winning with more than 23,000 votes as opposed to McCartney’s 21,795 votes. This was then followed by the candidates for UKIP, the Liberal Democrats and the Green Party respectively.

Independent candidate Phil Gray came sixth, whilst Iain Scott-Burdon came last with 124 votes.

In a post on Twitter, Karl McCartney said ‘it has been an honour and a privilege’ to serve as an MP.

“Thankyou to all my team & supporters, & voters, across the beautiful & friendly constituency of Lincoln,” he said.

Here is the full list of candidates, with the votes they received in the election:

  • Karen Lee (LAB): 23,333 votes
  • Karl McCartney (CON): 21,795 votes
  • Nick Smith (UKIP): 1,287 votes
  • Caroline Kenyon (LIB): 1,284 votes
  • Ben Loryman (GRN): 583 votes
  • Phil Gray (IND): 312 votes
  • Iain Scott-Burdon (IND): 124 votes