The new leader for the City of Lincoln Council has been announced. Labour Councillor Naomi Tweddle takes over from Labour’s Ric Metcalfe, who has stepped down from the role after 42 years as a councillor.  

Ric Metcalfe, 81, was elected as a councillor for the City of Lincoln Council in 1982, served as Deputy Leader of the council for 12 years and has been the leader of the council since 2002.  

Cllr Metcalfe stated he has stepped down as councillor to spend time with family, travel abroad and continue his teaching career at the University of Lincoln, where he has tenured as an Associate Lecturer in the School of Social and Political Sciences and the College of Arts Social Sciences and Humanities.  

Cllr Tweddle has been the Labour councillor for the Minister Ward in Lincoln since May 9th, 2016, and the Executive Member for Inclusive Economic Growth.  She has been responsible for the redevelopment of Lincoln’s Cornhill Market and the smaller events that replaced the Lincoln Christmas Market after the council cancelled last year.  

Cllr Tweddle said: “I am incredibly honoured to be nominated to become the new Leader of City of Lincoln Council. “I am grateful to be given the opportunity to build on the strong foundations put in place by Cllr Metcalfe, and I would like to take this opportunity to express my appreciation for his devoted service to the city over so many years and to wish him well in his retirement.   

“As someone who was born and raised in Lincoln and still lives here with my young family, it is incredibly important to me that the city fulfils its potential.” She added: “Despite the significant challenges of recent years, the council has continued to deliver for the people of Lincoln through its Vision 2025.  

“I look forward to working with council officers over the coming months to build our ambitious plans for Vision 2030 to ensure the city continues to be one of the best places in the country to live, work, study and invest.”

Councillor Tweddle will be formally appointed as council leader on May 14th at the Council’s Annual General Meeting, where councillors are officially welcomed into their new roles.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *