All motions seen at the University of Lincoln Students’ Union Annual General Meeting (AGM) were passed, including one that will see a dramatic change in the shape of the SU’s officer structure.

The AGM held in the EMMTEC Auditorium on Thursday, November 18th, also saw the results of the SU by-elections.

All motions were passed, including a motion titled “Students’ Union Executive Committee Structure”. This motion sees a significant change in the make up of SU officers with the abolition of the roles of:

  • Holbeach Officer
  • Riseholme Officer
  • Hull Officer
  • Events Officer

And the invention of:

  • Satellite Campus Officer, a conglomerate role comprising of all three previous Campus Officers
  • Postgraduate Officer, who will support VP Academic Affairs
  • Non-Portfolio Officers (2), these officers will have more freedom in their work not being restrained by a specific role

The other motions raised at the AGM were varied with issues such as “Blackboard” aimed at improving teachers’ and students’ working knowledge of Blackboard.

There was also “Students Saving Lives: First Aid Campaign” resolving to improve general First-Aid knowledge in the university and “Group Work for Modules” with the aim of promoting further the university’s group work policy.

“Representation at the Heart of the Union”, a motion with the aim of gauging student opinion to help shape the SU, was described by one person present as “vague and woolly” with many people struggling to understand its purpose

The motion “Senior Student Reps: Accessibility & Communication” aims to encourage interaction between reps, lecturers and students.

“Higher Education Funding & Student Support” though not completely up-to-date with new government plans the motion laid out the SU’s stance on higher education spending.

All of the SU representatives stated that they will be attending the Socialist Students Lincoln organised protest on November 24th, though they did not declare direct SU support.

The AGM also served to ratify the meeting from last year, and to receive several budgets and reports.

The SU reported an “all time high” for by-elections, with just over 300 people voting — meaning a turnout of approximately 3%.

The winners of the by-elections were as follows:

NUS Delegate:  Joe Hicks 156 votes, Victoria Caswell 48 votes, Re-open Nominations (RON) 38, with 8 spoilt votes.
Winners: Joe Hicks, Victoria Caswell and RON

Societies Officer: Alaa Alnajafi 54, Holly Peasgood 186 votes, RON 18, with 23 spoilt.
Winner: Holly Peasgood

Events Officer: Sean Carr 74, Joshua Barratt 22, Kelly Nicholls 141 votes, RON 22, with 10 spoilt.
Winner: Kelly Nicholls

One thought on “Another SU restructuring following AGM”

Comments are closed.